Limiting or granting access is a two-step process. First you will create a program and second you will create a permission set for that program.

What is a Program?

In Apricot, programs are collections of users. The programs in your Apricot can mirror the programs or departments in your organization, each with their own staff members and data - a program for counselors, a different program for interns, a different program for volunteers, etc. Each program can have their access to Apricot forms, reports and bulletins limited to only the kind of data they need to see on a regular basis.

What is a Permission Set?

  • Once you have created a program, you will add a Permission Set to that program. Every program should have at least one Permission Set. Each Permission Set will govern which specific forms, reports and bulletins the users of each program will be able to access.

Create a New Program

  1. Open the "Administrator" Tab.
  2. Select "User/Program Profiles" on the left-hand menu.
  3. Select "Program Profiles" in the "Access Navigation" menu on the right-hand side.
  4. Select "New Programs" in the "Search Actions" menu to the right. 
  1. Name your program.
  2. Fill in a program address and primary contact if desired.
  3. Save Record.

Create a New Permission Set

To the right of "Permission Sets," hover over "Actions." Once the dropdown menu appears, select "Create New."

  1. Name your Permission Set. Each set will outline very specific kinds of access. A program may need to have more than one Permission Set.
  2. Under "Assigned Users," select "Add." This is where you will find and add the users who will be governed by the specific Permission Set you are creating.
  3. If you have a lot of users, it may be helpful to add a search field by selecting from the dropdown menu.
  4. Select the user or users you would like to add to the Permission Set.
  5. Close the pop-up window.
  6. Select "Save Record" in the top right-hand corner.

Adding Form Permissions

Scroll down to the section called "Permissions."

  1. Across the top, you will see tabs for Forms, Reports, Bulletins and Shared Files. If not already selected, click on "Forms." This will allow you to grant access to specific forms.
  2. On the left-hand side of the grid, you will see a list of all the forms that exist in your Apricot.
  3. Across the top of the grid, you will see different kinds of access.
  • View Record: Users can see data that has been entered on any of the records of this form.
  • Search Record: Users can search for any of the records of this form.
  • Create Record: Users can create new records of this form.
  • Edit Record: Users can make changes to data entered on records of this form.
  • Archive Record: Users can archive or delete records from the system.
  • Ignore Program Assignment: Indicates that the form is not program specific, if checked users in this permission set will have access to all site records.
  • User RLA Applied: Users may only access records that have been created by or assigned to themselves.
  • Design Form: Users have access to design features and may edit this form. This will only apply to users who also have the role to edit forms.

Adding Report Permissions

  1. Across the top, select "Reports." This will allow you to grant access to specific reports.
  2. On the left-hand side, you will see a list of all report categories and reports that exist in your Apricot.
  3. On the right-hand side, you will see "View" and "Edit" permissions.

If you expand the black arrow next to a report category, it will show all the reports that exist in that category. Granting access to View or Edit a report to a category will automatically grant access to all the reports in that category.

Adding Bulletin Permissions

  1. Across the top, select "Bulletins." This will allow you to grant access to specific bulletins.
  2. On the left-hand side, you will see a list of all the bulletins that exist in your Apricot.
  3. You can grant View Access to any of these bulletins.

TIP: If you wish to allow access to a Report Bulletin (a Bulletin which contains a report's results) you must give the user access to the report as well as the bulletin.

Adding Shared Files Permissions

  1. Across the top, select "Shared Files." This will allow you to give access to specific shared files that have been uploaded to your Apricot. 
  2. On the left-hand side, you will see a list of any shared files that have already been uploaded to your Apricot.
  3. On the right-hand side, you can grant view access. This will also grant access to download the shared files. 
  4. Scroll back to the top of the page and select "Save Record."

Edit an Existing Program

  1. Open the "Administrator" tab.
  2. Select "User/Program Profiles" in the left-hand menu.
  3. Select "Program Profiles" in the "Access Navigation" menu on the right-hand menu.
  4. Click a row of data containing the program you would like to edit.
  1. To edit the name or description of the program, select "Edit Programs" from the right-hand menu.
  2. To edit an existing Permission Set, expand the gray arrow next to "Permission Sets." Then click the green text to open the Permission Set for editing. This is where  you can add another user to an existing Permission Set or adjust what forms, reports, and bulletins a user can access. 
  3. To create a new Permission Set, hover over "Actions" and select "Create New."

Inactivate a Program

  1. To inactivate a program, select "Edit Programs" on the right-hand side of the "Programs Document Folder."
  1. Using the radio buttons under "Program Status," you can toggle the program to either "Active" or "Inactive."

Delete an Existing Permission Set

  1. Open the "Administrator" tab.
  2. Select "User/Program Profiles" in the left-hand menu.
  3. Select "Program Profiles" in the "Access Navigation" menu on the right-hand menu.
  4. Click a row of data containing the program you would like to edit.
  1. To edit an existing Permission Set, expand the gray arrow next to Permission Sets.
  2. Click the green text to open the Permission Set for editing.
  1. Select "Archive Record" to delete the existing Permission Set.
Did this answer your question?